top of page
  • Writer's pictureSadPanda333

Growing Up In Guernsey - Season 1 Review

As this save is such a long term project I am going to stick to my recent format of season reviews.


There will be extra focus in March as that is when the Youth Intake will come through. But with no transfers summer and January will be quicker than normal.


In our previous episode we covered all aspects of the club, our tactics for the start of the season and preseason. If you missed that episode or need a recap you can do so here.


This is it then, the start of what could be the greatest journey this blog has ever seen and it all starts away at Chalfont St. Peter.

 

There are some last bits of business to cover before we get to the action.


The club announced our final season ticket sales for the year.

With a Stadium capacity of 5000 this is relatively low but its a good base.

 

August 2021


August brings with it the start of the league season. Lets See how we got on

An unbeaten start to the season! Bit too much yellow in there but its a positive start. three straight 1-1 league draws shows we need some improvements at both ends of the field.


The final league game was the highlight as we picked up our first win of the season. Lots of goals from midfield through Skillen and Dodds, time for thos star strikers to start scoring!

 

September 2021


September is a bumper month as we have no less than 7 games through the month (Possibly 8 dependant on cup games which we will cover later) that's a game every Saturday and Wednesday for 4 weeks.


A huge test for our small squad!

Some great results in here. The standout being the 3-0 win against Basingstoke, a team predicted to be right up there come the end of the season.


Defeat away to Bracknell, the odds on title favourites was expected but not in such a poor manner.


It was nice to see the strikers starting to fire and even more pleasing was the 4 out of 6 clean sheets!


One Striker missing for one half of this month was Ross Allen who suffered a serious injury.

A dampner on the month for sure.


Two months in and we have only lost one league game so far. A very positive start!

 

October 2021


We go into October full of confidence after a fantastic September. With an kinder run of fixtures this is good opportunity to pick up some points!

Thats exactly what we have done. A perfect month!


Carlos Canha has found his shooting boots with 4 in 4 and attacking midfielder Charlton Gauvain also heavily contributing with 3 in 4 as well. Great to see with Talisman Allen still on the side-lines

 

November 2021

Some tough games in November a we face back to back away games for the first time this season.


The Return of Ross Allen could be pivotal however, as he will be back for that first away game.


Well we not only lose or first game in 7, it is also our first defeat at home all season. It was a battering too as Marlow completely dominate from start to finish.


The two away games went swimmingly and as expected Ross Allen's return was pivotal. 2 in 2 on the mainland helped us to back to back wins.


We then went back for back in home losses and Northwood came out of nowhere to stun us at home. Very mixed bag of results through November.

 

Halfway League Table

Its a really solid first half of the season and we have put us in a really good position to at the very least get into the playoffs.

 

December 2021


With a break over there festive period there is only three games in December.


Hopefully a chance to get some points on the board and rest up for a few weeks before the new year.


Well, we have officially hit a slump. A winless run was not what we needed especially as two games were at home. These draws mean no win in 4 at home.


This form needs to improve if we are to stand a chance of the playoffs.

 

Youth Intake Preview


Nothing is more exciting than the Youth Intake Preview at this stage of the season. It holds a massive baring on your youth intake but it is not 100% accurate.


Lets break down our first Intake Preview.

Lots of Green is a good start. On the surface it appears to be a good preview with all of the positive reports coming for the defensive positions which is ideal with the lack in depth in those positions.

The bottom end of the intake shows what else we can expect. The only concerning position is the full-backs.

 

January 2022


We come into January on a 4 game winless run, at a time where we should be cementing our playoff places we are now looking over our shoulders.


Improvement is needed.


Better! An unbeaten, albeit short month is exactly what we needed. Ross Allen again leads the line perfectly with 3 goals in 3 game.


We were dealt a huge blow as Carlos Canha was ruled out for 3 months


 

February 2022


With Canha on the treatment table Allen is really going to have to carry the goal scoring load. The injury couldn't come at a worse time as we face the top two sides in Bracknell and Basingstoke.

Well he held up his end of the bargain. Scoring in 3 of the 4 games, one of them a winner.


The Bracknell game is a standout as they are runaway leaders, sadly though we threw away 3 points at home to South Park the week before. The pure definition of a mixed bag of results.

 

March 2022


We've reached March, the most exciting month of the year. Intake month.


But first some games, Canha returned slightly earlier than expected which was a huge boost for the run in. We are getting down to the business end of the season and these games will have huge ramifications for the playoff push.

Not a bad effort. Some dropped points at home to Thatcham which is frustrating but the Chipstead defeat was very disappointing making the last 4 games difficult ones.

 

Youth Intake


This is it. Lets find out what we are going to have to work with after our first youth intake...

Lets dissect this.


Firstly there's a lot of high potential here, but with 2 star current ability some of these lads will do a job in the first team straight away. Especially in defence.


Cutherbertson will be a strong starter at CB. Especially with the aging current starters we have. Although a natural defensive midfielder the drop back wont faze him.

Grainger will be a strong option at RB. His natural fitness will be key as we look for marauding fullbacks to get involved further up the field.

Little may not look as impressive on paper but we are in need of options out wide and he will offer that for the run in. Good technically and a good option from free kicks. lets see what he can do.


We shall keep an eye on all of these players develop and make their first team debuts. Its an exciting group that's for sure.

 

April 2022


We go into April with the last four games of the season looming. Lets check out the "Run In"

With games against Staines and Marlow we face a tough few games. We could eliminate Stains from the picture first up and will need to equal or better Chertsey's results to secure a playoff berth.


This is it.

What a time to hit form and I have to instantly point out to you the match winner against Staines. 16 year old Doug Little on his debut popped up 10 minutes after coming on to score his first ever professional goal.


We then move on to the Uxbridge game and note the match winner. Gary Parsons who was another on of the youth prospects came on due to injury to again win the game on his debut in the 93rd minute.


Allen then showed his class by scoring the only goal of the game in the important win away at Marlow to seal the playoffs.


 

Playoffs


Playoff time and at this level its a single let semi final at a neutral ground before hopefully moving onto the final.


The Semi final sees up face up against Marlow. They taught us a lesson early on in the season but we got revenge to secure an invaluable win in the run in. Can we repeat the trick?

Oooooooh yes we can! Although being dominated for large parts we manage to find a way to win the game. A real shock to end the season. We go onto the final.


Lets check out the result of the other Femi final.


No surprise there as Basingstoke made short work of Chalfont St Peter. Basingstoke finished 12 points clear of us in the league and are strong favourites for promotion.


We will need to be at our best.

Oh and how we were at our very best! Young right back Grainger got us off to a flyer as he smashed home from outside the box. Ross Allen grabbed a brace from the penalty spot as we ran riot to secure promotion at the first time of asking.

Its a stunning achievement considering the squad size and the injuries throughout the season.

 

Final Table


 

Cup Competitions

With all of the league excitement we also had a some domestic cup action to cover. Obviously we have different goals in these competitions. The FA cup will offer the chance of some good financial reward especially if we can make the first found proper.


The FA Trophy wont be taken as seriously, a non league League Cup if you will.


Lets see how we got on.

We gave the FA cup a good go falling short to Spennymoor who ply their trade two leagues up from us. Some good prize money however.


The Fa Trophy went as expected as we rested key players.

 

Season Review


Well thats the first season done and dusted. What a first season and it shows how challenging and fun this journey is going to be.


Here is the Season Review.









 

What's Next?


Next up on the page is our turn on The American Tale. A joint save with some brilliant fellow content creators.


If you missed the opening episode of the mega journey please check it out on DP-FM's page here.


We will be back in Guernsey soon I promise.


Cheers


Panda


If you want to check out our other FM22 Save, The Darmstadt Dream why not start from the beginning right here?



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page